Serving Phoenix & the East Valley from our Ahwatukee office Se habla español · Interpreter available · Español

Phoenix-Area Car Crash Statistics: 2024 City-by-City Data

Key takeaways

  • Phoenix had 37,472 crashes in 2024, 42.5% of all crashes in Maricopa County, and 278 people were killed (ADOT).
  • Mesa had 8,022 crashes, more than any Arizona city except Phoenix.
  • Maricopa County crashes rose about 1% from 2023 to 2024, while traffic deaths fell from 681 to 594.
  • MAG ranked 67th Avenue and McDowell Road the region's highest-risk intersection on 2018-2022 data (KJZZ).
  • Download the city-by-city data (CSV), with sources and methodology.
On this page
  1. Arizona and Maricopa County at a glance, 2024
  2. Crashes by city, 2024
  3. Change from 2023 to 2024
  4. Types of crashes statewide
  5. Where the most serious crashes happen
  6. Methodology
  7. Sources and how to cite
  8. Related pages

Kent Law compiled this page from the Arizona Department of Transportation's (ADOT) annual Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts report and other public sources. It shows how many crashes, deaths and injuries were reported in 2024 in each Phoenix-area city where we represent injured people, how that compares with 2023, and where the most serious crashes cluster. Every number is tied to its source; see sources and how to cite.

Last updated: September 26, 2026. The 2024 edition (published July 9, 2025) is the latest one posted on ADOT's Crash Facts page as of that date. We will update this page when ADOT publishes 2025 data.

Download: city-by-city data, 2023 and 2024 (CSV)

Arizona and Maricopa County at a glance, 2024

Measure (2024)ArizonaChange from 2023
Total crashes121,107-1.74% (from 123,256)
People killed1,228-6.12% (from 1,308)
People injured54,426-1.06% (from 55,011)
Alcohol-related deaths347-3.07% (from 358)
Motorcycle riders and passengers killed219-16.41% (from 262)
Pedestrians killed263-3.66% (from 273)
Bicyclists killed44no change
Deaths per hundred million vehicle miles traveled1.74+0.51% (from 1.73)

Source: ADOT, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, Table 1-1, p. 2.

Maricopa County had 88,094 crashes in 2024: 560 fatal crashes and 25,990 injury crashes, with 594 people killed and 37,649 injured (ADOT, Table 2-2, p. 10). Crashes in Maricopa County accounted for 72.74% of all crashes in Arizona and 50.13% of fatal crashes (ADOT, p. 13).

Crashes by city, 2024

The table lists every Phoenix-area city where Kent Law has a city page, sorted by total crashes. City names link to our local pages.

Crashes by city, Maricopa County portion, 2024 (ADOT Table 2-5)
CityCrashesFatal crashesInjury crashesPeople killedPeople injuredAlcohol-related crashesShare of county crashes
Phoenix37,47226510,44927815,0571,35142.5%
Mesa8,022462,503483,5313569.1%
Tempe6,637292,049323,0072957.5%
Glendale5,218271,456292,0642245.9%
Chandler4,267141,263151,8561814.8%
Scottsdale4,219151,421152,1132264.8%
Peoria3,009181,040211,5021193.4%
Gilbert2,91421695229511233.3%
Surprise2,1101057310856842.4%
Goodyear1,8691459414862722.1%
Avondale1,85075109745662.1%
Buckeye97073457572491.1%
Queen Creek53301580224100.6%
Other Maricopa County areas*7,412762,445823,6133178.4%
Maricopa County total88,09456025,99059437,6493,544100%

Source: ADOT, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, Table 2-5, p. 13 (Maricopa County rows). "Share of county crashes" is calculated by Kent Law from the same table. *"Other Maricopa County areas" is the row ADOT labels "Maricopa County": crashes in the county that ADOT did not assign to one of the listed cities or towns. Other listed towns (for example Tolleson, El Mirage and Paradise Valley) are in ADOT's table but not in ours.

What stands out:

  • Phoenix had 37,472 crashes, 42.5% of all crashes in Maricopa County, and 278 of the county's 594 traffic deaths (46.8%). Phoenix's numbers include neighborhoods such as Maryvale, Laveen, south Phoenix, downtown and Ahwatukee, which are inside Phoenix city limits.
  • Mesa had 8,022 crashes, more than any other Arizona city except Phoenix, and 48 people were killed.
  • Alcohol. Phoenix had 1,351 alcohol-related crashes, Mesa 356, Tempe 295, Scottsdale 226 and Glendale 224.
  • West and southeast Valley. Goodyear had 1,869 crashes, Avondale 1,850, Buckeye 970 and Queen Creek 533 (Maricopa County portion). See the change from 2023 below.

Change from 2023 to 2024

Change from 2023 to 2024 by city (ADOT Table 2-5, 2023 and 2024 editions)
CityCrashes 2023Crashes 2024ChangeKilled 2023Killed 2024Injured 2023Injured 2024
Phoenix36,92737,472+1.5%30727814,92215,057
Mesa7,5348,022+6.5%54483,1503,531
Tempe7,2996,637-9.1%30323,1993,007
Glendale5,1505,218+1.3%40292,2422,064
Chandler4,3404,267-1.7%18151,8141,856
Scottsdale4,0934,219+3.1%17151,8782,113
Peoria3,0303,009-0.7%17211,5081,502
Gilbert2,8262,914+3.1%1322901951
Surprise2,1042,110+0.3%1610829856
Goodyear1,7101,869+9.3%1914779862
Avondale1,8081,850+2.3%89720745
Buckeye1,011970-4.1%67451572
Queen Creek457533+16.6%40203224
Maricopa County total87,23788,094+1.0%68159437,04737,649

Sources: ADOT, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts (July 9, 2025) and 2023 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts (July 12, 2024), Table 2-5, p. 13 of each. Percent change calculated by Kent Law.

Across Maricopa County, total crashes rose about 1.0% from 2023 to 2024, while deaths fell from 681 to 594. Queen Creek (+16.6%), Goodyear (+9.3%) and Mesa (+6.5%) had the largest increases in total crashes among the cities in our table. Tempe (-9.1%) and Buckeye (-4.1%) had the largest decreases. Small numbers swing more from year to year, so one year's change in a smaller city is not a trend.

City crashes ADOT lists outside Maricopa County

A few cities cross county lines, and ADOT reports those portions under the other county. They are not included in the city table above.

City crashes ADOT lists outside Maricopa County, 2024
AreaCrashes 2024Fatal crashesInjury crashesKilledInjuredCrashes 2023
Queen Creek (Pinal County portion)4601101549
Chandler (Pinal County portion)11030not listed
Peoria (Yavapai County portion)101021

Source: ADOT, 2024 and 2023 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, Table 2-5, p. 14 (Pinal and Yavapai County rows).

Types of crashes statewide

ADOT reports crash types for the whole state, not by city.

Crash type (Arizona, 2024)CrashesShareFatal crashesInjury crashes
Rear-end38,65437.51% of multi-vehicle crashes9112,221
Sideswipe (same direction)19,20818.64%342,534
Angle (often called T-bone)18,18217.64%966,371
Left turn16,86616.37%1276,438
Head-on2,0231.96%83919

Source: ADOT, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, Table 3-1, p. 18 (manner of collision in multi-unit crashes).

  • Hit-and-run. Arizona had 16,136 hit-and-run crashes in 2024, about 13.3% of all crashes. They included 84 fatal crashes and 3,321 injury crashes; 86 people were killed and 4,202 injured (ADOT, Table 5-3, p. 28).
  • Pedestrians after dark. Of the 261 fatal pedestrian crashes in Arizona in 2024, 200 happened in dark conditions, compared with 34 in daylight (ADOT, Table 7-7, p. 45).
  • Urban and rural. Urban crashes were 86.95% of all crashes but 65.89% of fatal crashes; rural crashes were 13.05% of crashes but 34.11% of fatal crashes (ADOT, p. 11).
  • Uninsured drivers. The Insurance Research Council estimated that 10.6% of Arizona drivers were uninsured in 2023 (Insurance Research Council, via the Insurance Information Institute). Our guide to uninsured motorist claims in Arizona explains what that means after a crash.

Where the most serious crashes happen

Phoenix's High Injury Network

The City of Phoenix built the High Injury Network in its Road Safety Action Plan from five years of crash data (2016 to 2020), which included 5,473 motor vehicle crashes where someone was killed or seriously injured (City of Phoenix Road Safety Action Plan 2022/2023 Annual Report).

The city ranked Indian School Road between 91st Avenue and 39th Avenue among its highest crash-risk locations. From 2017 through 2021, that stretch had 124 crashes where someone was killed or seriously hurt: 39 people died and 109 were seriously injured. Almost half of the people killed (48%) were walking or riding a bike, and more than half of the deaths (52%) happened after dark (City of Phoenix Road Safety Action Plan 2022/2023 Annual Report).

Highest-risk intersections in the region (MAG ranking)

The Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG) ranks the region's intersections by crash risk. KJZZ reported the rankings in 2021 and 2023.

IntersectionCityRank, 2018-2022 dataRank, 2015-2019 data
67th Avenue and McDowell RoadPhoenix (west)1st3rd
51st Avenue and Camelback RoadGlendale2nd5th
67th Avenue and Thomas RoadPhoenix (west)4thnot reported here
67th Avenue and Indian School RoadPhoenix (west)5thnot reported here
83rd Avenue and Indian School RoadPhoenix (west)6thnot reported here
51st Avenue and Thomas RoadPhoenix (west)8thnot reported here

Sources: KJZZ, "These are the most dangerous intersections in metro Phoenix" (November 29, 2023), and "Here Are The Most Dangerous Intersections In Metro Phoenix" (March 2, 2021), reporting MAG data. "Not reported here" means we did not verify that intersection's earlier rank.

On the 2018 to 2022 list, nine of the ten highest-risk intersections were on the west side of Phoenix and in Glendale (KJZZ, November 2023). Read more on our west Phoenix and Maryvale page and our Glendale page.

Methodology

  • Source of the city figures. ADOT's Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts is compiled from Arizona Traffic Crash Reports submitted to ADOT by state, county, city, tribal and other law enforcement agencies, and ADOT says it reflects reported crashes on all Arizona roadways, including city streets, county roads, tribal roads and state highways (ADOT news release, July 9, 2025). We copied the Table 2-5 ("Analysis by Jurisdiction") rows for each city exactly as published and checked that the Maricopa County rows add up to ADOT's county total (88,094 crashes in 2024; 87,237 in 2023).
  • What the columns mean. "Crashes" is ADOT's total for the jurisdiction. "Fatal crashes" and "injury crashes" count crashes; "people killed" and "people injured" count people, so one crash can kill or injure more than one person. "Alcohol-related crashes" is ADOT's alcohol-related column.
  • Our calculations. Shares and percent changes are calculated by Kent Law from ADOT's numbers and rounded to one decimal place. We do not calculate per-person rates, because they depend on population estimates ADOT does not publish in this table.
  • Out-of-county portions. Queen Creek, Chandler and Peoria each have a small number of crashes that ADOT reports under Pinal or Yavapai County. They are shown separately and not added to the city table.
  • Preliminary data. ADOT notes that it uses preliminary data when necessary, so earlier or later reports may differ slightly. Always check the latest ADOT edition.
  • Phoenix and MAG locations. The High Injury Network and Indian School Road figures come from the City of Phoenix's Road Safety Action Plan 2022/2023 Annual Report. Intersection rankings are MAG's, as reported by KJZZ; we did not recalculate them.
  • What this page is not. These are counts of reported crashes. They do not say who was at fault in any crash.

Sources and how to cite

All city figures come from the Arizona Department of Transportation's Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts reports for 2024 and 2023 (Table 2-5), linked in the sources list below. If you refer to these numbers, please name ADOT as the original source; if you use our compilation or calculations, please link to this page:

Arizona Department of Transportation, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, compiled by Kent Law (https://www.kent-law.org/resources/phoenix-car-accident-statistics/).

The underlying rows are in the CSV download. If you were hurt in a crash and have questions, call Kent Law at (480) 359-KENT.

Talk with a Kent Law attorney

Free case review. No fee unless we win.

Frequently asked questions

How many car crashes were there in Phoenix in 2024?

ADOT reported 37,472 crashes in the City of Phoenix in 2024, including 265 fatal crashes and 10,449 injury crashes. 278 people were killed and 15,057 were injured (ADOT, 2024 Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, Table 2-5).

Which Phoenix-area city had the most crashes after Phoenix?

Mesa, with 8,022 crashes in 2024, followed by Tempe (6,637), Glendale (5,218), Chandler (4,267) and Scottsdale (4,219) (ADOT, Table 2-5).

What are the most dangerous intersections in metro Phoenix?

On its crash-risk list built from 2018 to 2022 data, the Maricopa Association of Governments ranked 67th Avenue and McDowell Road 1st in the region and 51st Avenue and Camelback Road in Glendale 2nd. Nine of the ten highest-risk intersections were on the west side of Phoenix and in Glendale (KJZZ, November 29, 2023).

How many Arizona drivers are uninsured?

The Insurance Research Council estimated that 10.6% of Arizona drivers were uninsured in 2023, as reported by the Insurance Information Institute.

Where do these numbers come from?

The city figures come from Table 2-5 of the Arizona Department of Transportation's annual Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Facts reports for 2024 and 2023. Intersection rankings are the Maricopa Association of Governments', as reported by KJZZ, and the High Injury Network figures come from the City of Phoenix Road Safety Action Plan. The city-by-city rows are available as a CSV download.

Related: Phoenix car accident lawyer

Sources

This page summarizes public crash data for general information. It is not legal advice, and crash counts do not show who was at fault in any crash.

Talk with Kent Law today

(480) 359-KENT

No fee unless we win. Se habla español.

Start your free case review

Call
(480) 359-KENT
Text us Free Case Review